June 5th - October 30th 2022

Pierino Selmoni, Shinroku Shimokawa

The temporary exhibition (2022) is based on the idea of mirroring the position of a sculptor anchored in the region, Pierino Selmoni, with that of an internationally active artist, Shinroku Shimokava, who was also one of the first artists in residence at the Centro Internazionale di Scultura (CIS) in 2021 and who is familiar with the structural peculiarities of the location. The connection of the CIS with an artistic personality from Ticino and the opening of the exhibition concept with an internationally active artist are two fundamental factors for the positioning of the CIS at home and abroad.

Pierino Selmoni (1927-2017) is one of the last representatives of sculpture made using traditional techniques and tools in the canton of Ticino (Switzerland).

A profound connoisseur of stone material and traditional cutting techniques - so much so that Jean Arp and Max Bill entrusted him during their stays in Locarno in Remo Rossi's Saleggi atelier - he experimented with new materials (e.g. iron) and techniques (e.g. welding).

Shinroku Shimokawa (*1979) trained at the University of Art in Tokyo (2000-2005) and at the State Academy of Plastic Art in Stuttgart (2015), where he still lives. In his stone works, often accompanied by video projections, the Japanese artist encompasses fragility and fear, but also the process of production, the properties of the material, the dimensions of the object, space and time; themes that the artist investigates not only in sculpture, but also in everyday activities such as cooking, the primary basis for sharing experiences.

The temporary exhibition is curated by Lilian Hasler and Dr. Marie Therese Bätschmann.

5 juin - 30 octobre 2022

Pierino Selmoni, Shinroku Shimokawa

L'exposition temporaire (2022) repose sur l'idée de mettre en miroir la position d'un sculpteur ancré dans la région, Pierino Selmoni, avec celle d'un artiste d'envergure internationale, Shinroku Shimokawa, qui a également été l'un des premiers artistes en résidence au Centro Internazionale di Scultura (CIS) en 2021 et qui connaît bien les particularités structurelles du lieu. Le rapprochement du CIS avec une personnalité artistique tessinoise et l'ouverture du concept d'exposition avec un artiste d'envergure internationale sont deux facteurs fondamentaux pour le positionnement du CIS en Suisse et à l'étranger.

Pierino Selmoni (1927-2017) est l'un des derniers représentants de la sculpture réalisée avec des techniques et des outils traditionnels dans le canton du Tessin (Suisse).

Profond connaisseur de la pierre pierre et des techniques de coupe traditionnelles - au point que Jean Arp et Max Bill lui confient, lors de leurs séjours à Locarno, l'atelier Saleggi de Remo Rossi - il expérimente de nouveaux matériaux (par exemple le fer) et de nouvelles techniques (par exemple la soudure).

Shinroku Shimokawa (*1979) s'est formé à l'Université d'art de Tokyo (2000-2005) et à l'Académie d'État des arts plastiques de Stuttgart (2015), où il vit toujours. Dans ses œuvres en pierre, souvent accompagnées de projections vidéo, l'artiste japonais aborde la fragilité et la peur, mais aussi le processus de production, les propriétés du matériau, la taille de l'objet, l'espace et le temps ; des thèmes que l'artiste explore non seulement dans la sculpture, mais aussi dans les activités quotidiennes telles que la cuisine, base première du partage des expériences.

Les curatrices de cette exposition temporaire sont Lilian Hasler et Dr. Marie Therese Bätschmann.